Volunteer Recognition Awards

Created on

The Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh recognizes and honours the achievements and contributions of community volunteers. These prestigious awards express Council’s appreciation of the many individuals and community groups who work to enhance the quality of life in Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh. We would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to everyone who participated in the nomination process. Each nominee has demonstrated remarkable contributions, making the selection process incredibly challenging.

Outstanding Community Group Award

The Outstanding Community Group Award recognizes a community group for its outstanding voluntary contribution to the well-being of the community. 

We would like to recognize the St. Helen’s Hall Board. In 2002, residents banded together to save the former Women’s Institute, which had fallen into disrepair. For the past 20 years, this dedicated group of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh citizens have worked hard to keep the hall updated, relevant, accessible, and affordable for community use. 

The Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh presented the Outstanding Community Group Award to the St. Helen's Hall Board for their decades of dedication. Their passion and commitment serve as an inspiration to others, and we are proud to have them as part of our Township. 


Missing from the photo: Hannah Wheeler, Gavin Furness, Tom Blackwell, Mel Lyons and Ed Shetler

Outstanding Individual Award

The Outstanding Individual Award recognizes an individual for their outstanding contribution to the well-being of our community.

We would like to recognize Lila Rintoul. A former resident of St Helen’s who has been instrumental in the community. Leading 4-H, President of the Women’s Institute, volunteering at the Seniors Dining Program and now serving on the St. Helen’s Hall Board. Even after moving to Blyth, she continues to volunteer her time, donate her delicious desserts, and encourages youth to get involved. 

The Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh presented her with the Outstanding Individual Award. May this serve as a testament to her remarkable contributions and inspire others to follow in her footsteps.